top of page

Podcasts

By -

Arnav Sampigethaya


After film, I think my next largest form of media consumption is probably in the form of podcasts. I love them because you can listen to them while doing other menial tasks, and learn something, while being entertained, which does make it more stimulating than music. I've been listening to podcasts for about 6 to 7 years now and I have so many great suggestions in so many categories. I've sorted them out into categories so that you can choose the ones based on what your interests are.


Personally, I use PocketCasts because of its cross-platform ability and because I've been using it for years. But Apple Podcasts, Spotify and Google Podcasts are also great platforms for you to start listening. So without further ado, let's get started -




Film & TV


The Weekly Planet


My first podcast and my entry into the whole space as a whole. I love this for its entertainment value, information and it’s unique approach. The two Australian hosts are incredibly charismatic. You’ll love this if you’re into Marvel, DC, Star Wars and all the other geeky things that I’m into.


Karstcast Moviecast


As I was already a huge fan of his YouTube channel, I was obviously drawn towards Karsten Runquist’s podcast. It’s an entertaining delight with a fine mixture of mature film analysis and immature jokes. You’ll definitely have fun and learn a lot while listening to this.


InterCut Pod


Another instance of me being drawn to a beloved YouTuber of mine. The AtZ show and Let Me Explain’s host has an extremely in-depth podcast which dissects media in a really interesting way. Definitely check them out!


Football

This is probably the category I listen to the most so….


B/R Football Ranks

This is my favourite football podcast! It’s so funny and informative. Its flair and charm is unparalleled. I love this pod for so many reasons.


That Peter Crouch Podcast

This award-winning podcast is one that will leave you laughing so hard, there will be tears in your eyes. What I’ve linked above is the first episode of Series 3 which in my opinion is the best one. Listen to this and everything released after this if you want to fall on the ground laughing about anecdotes from this huge English footballer’s career playing for a variety of huge clubs.


Always Cheating

If you’re into FPL, this is an essential. That’s all I’ll say about this one.


Men in Blazers

Two British-Americans give their weekly roundup of the Premier League in a hilarious format. Give this a listen for a fresh take!


BBC Football Daily and ESPN FC

Back when the season was at full swing, these were probably podcasts I listened to every day. A complete breakdown of all things football. BBC is more focused on English football, whereas ESPN gives you a whole European view. Although I wouldn’t suggest them during these Quarantines, still wanted to give ’em a shoutout.


Non-fiction Drama/Mystery


Serial

The first season of this podcast is what made podcasts popular worldwide. The first season is sensational and turned podcasts from an indie media platform to a worldwide sensation. It deconstructs a true-crime story in a revolutionary way.


Infamous: The Tekashi 6ix9ine Story

Very entertaining and insightful even if you’ve never listened to a single one of his songs. Check this one out for a nice, documentary-style podcast.


Video Games


Filthy Casuals

A hilarious podcast keeping you up-to-date on video games with a twist of fun and unique segments from this group of quirky Australians.


HUNT THE TRUTH

A very interesting podcast set in the HALO universe, filled with mystery, intrigue and world-building. Season 1 is definitely more fun than Season 2 but both are thoroughly entertaining.


Comedy


Two in the Think Tank

A hilarious show, where these two quirky Australians perform a variety of humorous comedy sketches, filled with innovation and intrigue


Tiny Meat Gang

Cody Ko and Noel Miller have a hilarious podcast! That’s all I need to say to sell you on this one!


Informational


Waveform

All things tech by MKHBD, a definitely fun listen for tech enthusiasts like me.


Planet Money

A very interesting podcast about economics and the world of money.


Revisionist History

Malcolm Gladwell’s Unique take on history that we have forgotten, a very contemplative listen!


Basketball


Locked On – NBA

The headline show of the Locked On Podcast network, you can also type Locked On followed by your favourite team to find their team-specific podcast. Of course, these are more relevant when the season is going on but still, a fun listen.


ESPN’S First Take

A mixture of basketball and other sports, Stephen A Smith and Max Kellerman will always keep you up-to-date and interested in American sports.


Cricket


Tailenders

A bunch of laddish lads from England host a podcast with renowned English bowler Jimmy Anderson. It’s full of analysis and laughs!


All in all, I think Podcasts are one of the most interesting and unique forms of media consumption and everyone would be better off listening to podcasts.

I give them 30 million episodes currently available out of ten.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page