top of page

The Ones that Inspire

By Arohi Sachar


If there’s one thing to know about this Psychology column writer, it’s that she is a complete people person. I love people-not Joe Goldberg type, but I love the idea of different perceptions, different passions and most importantly-different stories. Unfortunately or fortunately, I do not have a single person who inspires me, rather it’s a cumulation of people I’ve read about, interacted with, shared ideas with and just spent time around. So I’ll be dividing this article into two parts- people who have inspired me from the field of psychology and people who inspire me just because of who they are.


The field of Psychology is vast. I cannot even put a number on the theories we have, people who practice or the new innovations and discoveries. Trust me, I googled all three. But there’s some that stick with me-they make me want to dive a little deeper and find answers to questions no one has brought up before. Although it is a theory that leads me to the person, the fact that their mind worked that way is so fascinating I eventually hear myself go - “I want to do something like that!”- you know you’ve been inspired.



One of the first theories I ever read was “unconditional positive regard.” This theory has shaped my outlook on life. Carl Rogers, a humanistic psychologist used this term to describe a type of therapy where we show, as the word suggests, an unconditional positive response despite what the person tells us. You show complete support, affirmation and most importantly, accept them for who they are. Now, of course, this is important in therapy but I believe that even up to a certain level with the people around us, acceptance is so important. When people realise that they are loved and cared for who they are, that they don’t have to change to be liked or adhere to the standards of society, you’re giving them space to do what they are best at- be themselves. Carl Rogers published this theory in 1957. He understood the negative impact and the beliefs people start holding about themselves when they are not appreciated enough. This was during a time all this subject focused on was the mind and behaviour. Carl Rogers thought out of the box. Carl Rogers inspired me.





A feminist psychologist in 1885 who gave showed people the ‘other side’ and entered a male-dominated field to make her own theories? Uh yes, please.

Karen Horney is best known for introducing women both to and in psychology. Her theories gave a new perspective during a time women's contributions were often overlooked and ignored. She refuted the big names and made a place for herself. Karen Horney stood up for what she believed in. Karen Horney inspired me.


There are many more psychologists who have inspired me and drawn me closer to this subject. Every theory back in the day made an impact someway or the other. 70 years later a girl would have her nose buried in their books giving up sleep just to read a little bit more about why they thought the way they did- this means they are inspirational. Not only did they leave a mark on the field, but they also left a mark on her.



Moving on to the ones I can actually interact with and not just read about, the people around me are my biggest source of inspiration. The first set of people I’m instantly drawn towards are the “ambitious hard workers” Learning about their goals, watching them work tirelessly on their passion and fueling their dreams is the literal definition of inspiring. These people drive me- as if they can transfer some bits of themselves and their dedication to help me remake the world. They make me want to learn more, read more, write more and grasp every bit of knowledge the world has to offer. They inspire me.





Another set is what I like to call “The dreamers”- the artistic creative people who get joy in colouring outside the lines, the ones who you can have a conversation with about almost anything- you jump from books to current affairs to conspiracy theories and space-they’ll make sure you cover all. These people are radiant. Their perception of life brightens my own and their personality itself is highly motivating. They make me appreciate the small things in life- look at the world from the artistic side. They make me want to create- create things, create memories, create new experiences. They inspire me.



However, the people who inspire me the most are just my bubble of favourite people. These are my biggest supporters. Not every conversation with them is about future goals or what’s happening in the world, sometimes it’s just about us. They are the ones I can be completely honest around. I can show them every single characteristic that makes me who I am. They inspire me to become a better version of myself to work harder, to care more, to love more- they are the ones who are happier than me when I achieve something big, the ones who remind me to be proud of myself even if it’s something small, the ones who pick me up when I fall, the ones who never let me give up. They are my source of unconditional positive regard. The source of my inspiration.




Lastly, you. Yes, you - you are my inspiration. You reading this article despite the hundred other things you could have been doing inspires me. You care about my raw writing, coming back week after week to read a thousand words I spent a whole week working on inspires me. You leave a mark on me the same way Carl Jung, Karen Horney or the thousand other psychologists did. So to everyone reading this article, thank you for driving me. Thank you for making me love this subject even more. Thank you for making the sleepless nights of research worth it. Thank you for inspiring me :)



130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page