top of page

Worth Gold

By Minal Shaik



The bard is who tells the story,

But has no story to tell

Thank the kingdom and the court

For a scoop that could truly sell


The ones who are chosen

Are as human as the rest

They have stars in their eyes

And a duty at their behest


When our world was quiet and hurt

We would ne’er remain the same

Show me song and show me dance

Life is more than a sad game


Memories remain under

Waiting to be uncovered

Lives we don’t live ourselves

Are tales to be discovered


From this side to the other

I listen for what you say

For under the same flags

We spend such different days


Every story is worth telling

And every story soon told

Every person worth a word

And every word worth gold


In unkind times, kind words go far

But kind actions finish the trip

Our own help our fellows

And help everyone onto the ship


We built a life and gave it a story

I see all the faces ever inside

A glowing mirror! Unseen string!

Our fate is tied, and eyes open wide


Go save the world, and I’ll save you

Goodness is glory, your glory is safe

Shout it from the mountaintops

Upon my word, you are brave


When the times tested us,

Surely we surpassed in every way

I hope my misery and yours

Were worth more than their own weight


My words are marked, my letters stained

Defeat is bitter, but not permanent

Raise your heads for you fought well

Make it a hurrah, and not a lament


Those who guide us and teach us

Stand with us and by us and for us

It is only fitting that we repay what we can

Sweet gratitude for our future in their trust


We too shall leave sooner than we wish

I hope we do not look back

And regret what we have done or have not

Let’s love what we got, not what we lacked


Every story is worth telling

And every story soon told

Every person worth a word

And every word worth gold







21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page