top of page

Passing the Torch

Username : @aditiprashanth

Bio : A stargazing musician who’s excited about anything and everything in life.

Tagged : @theTGPfamily @ourReaders

Caption :

From everyone making Dalgona Coffee, vibing with Jason Derulo on TikTok, having night-long Houseparty sessions, putting up LED lights, playing Skribbl & AmongUs; dancing to Savage Love, WAP, & Blinding Lights; getting hooked to Instagram Reels and crazy over-the-top filters, and constantly having annoyingly catchy tunes playing in our mental TikTok playlists, here’s me throwing it back and telling you all about what I learnt this year by being a part of this fantastic team at TGP and what I’d like to pass on.

I think we’d all agree that throughout this completely crazy year, the presence of social media is what kept us sane. It brought us all together emotionally when we were physically distanced. That feeling of being connected in a world that’s constantly changing provided us comfort. And that’s what I love about social media and what I do at TGP. As we’ve experienced this year, it’s also extremely unpredictable and dynamic. And to someone like me, who’s more than enthusiastic about change, this aspect of social media was extremely attractive to me. You never really know what’ll end up touching people and becoming a viral trend overnight. From Jerusalema and Say So, to Stunnin’ and Savage; we really were introduced to new things and new artists this year.

Now enough about social media and what I love about it. Let me tell you about my journey which began all the way back in March and took a slight pause till May when our clever editors decided to take our operation online, and that’s what we did. We recruited designers, writers, artists, and logistics members, and really built a whole website from scratch. After this, the only thing that remained for us to do was to choose a vibe or theme, as such, for our Instagram account to promote our platform; which after about three whole days of going back and forth, we finally did.

The Green Pages, which started out as something so small and so concentrated ended up becoming a much bigger initiative, reaching people even outside India; and after 16 issues I can proudly say that we became bigger and better with each issue. We grew in our field but also as people during these 10 months.

Apart from practicing time management and being meticulous in my work, I also learnt to be punctual. I learnt how to use multiple editing apps and read a lot on Social Media Marketing and even took a course; and for someone who hasn’t really ever had in-depth knowledge about any other field apart from music, this was a change I welcomed. The role motivated me to learn more about business and marketing in a theoretical and a practical sense, mostly because I truly enjoyed every moment of what I did here.

Now enough about me. Let’s talk about you, the next generation of the TGP team. You’ll have your own set of challenges that you will overcome, and by the end of your journey, you’ll recognize the growth in you and those around you. Each issue release will put a bit of pressure upon you and teach you to hold yourself and others accountable for your own responsibilities and actions. Your discussions regarding the certain smaller aspects of the online magazine will make you realize that the devil is in the detail. And apart from all these values and virtues that I can go on and on about, working alongside your friends will also build some wholesome memories and unexpected friendships that you won’t even realize you made until your journey as a TGP member is over, and you’ll be writing an article just like I am now.

Well, here’s me passing the torch to you. It’s your turn now to light up your life and that of others with inspiration, knowledge & passion.



73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page