top of page

Student Council Interviews 2

EMERALD HOUSE

Being a part of the council has been an eventful and enjoyable journey, for not only me but all of us. We’ve had disagreements and roadblocks along the way, but have also made beautiful memories and close bonds with each other. We’ve all grown closer as friends and I hope y’all do too. Support each other’s decisions and opinions and never lose motivation because being a part of the council is fulfilling and rewarding experience.-Meher Sabharwal, Emerald House Captain, 2019-20


EMERALD HOUSE CAPTAIN ARJUN AHLUWALIA


So how does it feel to be on the student council? Is it very different from being a regular student?

There are so many things that go through my head.


Which are?

It feels great being on the student council. You have this sense of pride when you are leading your own house. You obtain this sense of maturity. But a leader has many responsibilities. Teachers and students expect so much from you. And you kind of want a break sometimes.

But looking back at the elections, remembering that the students and teachers voted for you because they believed you deserved it, gives you the energy to serve your purpose as a captain.

Other than the additional responsibility, you still are a regular student.

What does the council do for the school? What role do you think it plays? What role do YOU play in the council?

Good question.

We all know by now, the council comprises selected students. We serve as the voice of this school. We try to voice out the reasonable concerns and requests of the students, to the teachers. We also carry out the duties that the teachers invested in us.

 I am the Emerald house captain. Not only do I carry out the usual council duties, but it is also my job to lead my house to victory. I try to follow the Emerald house motto, In pursuit of perfection.

It may sound like I favour my house members. But believe me when I say this. I treat everybody the same way. I am not partial towards anyone.

Hmm, that’s admirable.

What problems do you face in your role? What issues would you like to solve?

The captains and I have the same problems. We have students who do not cooperate with us. Sometimes, because of these students, we get busted by our teachers.

 There are also times when we forget our role. We can be a bit out of control. And because of this, we get an earful from our teachers.

 We also have these questions logged at the back of our heads- "What more can we do for the students? Are our actions satisfactory to the school?"

And how is it flowing with the council right now? Disagreements? Any difference in opinions? How do you guys deal with that?

Everything is calm as of the moment. We do not have many disagreements amongst ourselves. Whatever differences we have come across now have all been solved by either voting or taking a third person's view.

But I can't say much as of the moment. The real part is yet to arrive, and we still have a way to go.

I see.

Hmm, so do you think the student council gets enough power in this school? Is it enough to carry out your duties?

As long as we have the support of the school, we have the power to carry out our duties. But as I have said before, we still have a long way to go. We do not know what is in store for us. There may be times where we may not get enough support. And that could be quite problematic. But we will always strive to carry out our duties.

But yes, presently, we get enough power in this school.


What about the ex-council? There are big shoes you need to fill. How does it feel to be following their footsteps?

 The ex-council has done quite a lot. And yes, we have quite a lot to do before we can achieve what they did. But we are not following their path. We are forging our own path. We are trying to accomplish a lot more.

Today’s council will take the school another step forward. What about tomorrow’s council? What kind of legacy do you want to leave for your successors?

I can't say much about tomorrow's council. I can just hope that there will be capable members. We will set a bar and hope that they can take those standards higher.




EMERALD HOUSE VICE CAPTAIN NAREN V.

How does it feel to be a part of the student council?

It feels good but it feels a little weird as everyone notices the badge first. You have a badge on you which everyone notices at first before looking at you.


I'm sure the student body is curious, what do you do as house vice-captain?

We haven't done much as yet except for having like march past practice a few times. We don't have any competitions yet to make teams for but we were told that we'll have more work to do next year.


And what are the challenges you face in your role?

The fact that everyone expects you to be perfect and super smart cause you are a council member.


How do you deal with it?

Usually just ignoring any such comments but sometimes when it gets annoying I just tell them that by getting a badge or responsibility I don't become perfect.


What would you like to do for your house and school?

We won the overall trophy last to last year and last year. We won both the overall trophy and the march past trophy last year. I would like to work with my fellow students from my house to make this year successful as well. And for the school, I would like to help make all the events successful and help my fellow students whenever they need it



RUBY HOUSE

Being part of the student council in my last year at Greenwood was one of the most rewarding moments of my 14-year tenure. Ignite, sports day etc where just some of the fun moments we shared. The council has become my family and I will take these memories with me a long way. I wish the new council all the very best and ask them to cherish the time they have together. If you have an idea push for it and don’t let anyone shut you down. There will be ups, downs, successes and failures and I ask just one thing from each of you. Do not be disheartened and do not give up. Each one of you is talented and I’m sure you will stop at nothing but the best.- Anjali Parthasarathy, Ruby House Captain 2019-20

RUBY HOUSE CAPTAIN TRISHA REDDY


So how does it feel to be on the student council? Is it very different from being a regular student?

It honestly gave me a new perspective of how the school runs and it allowed me to learn how to listen to others and voice my own opinions better. There's a heightened sense of responsibility and a feeling of accountability for my own actions as well as others'. However, in terms of every other aspect about being a student I know I'm still the same as everyone else and there's no sense of superiority. It's more so being a voice for their thoughts, gathering general opinion and communicating it to those who can make a change.


What does the council do for the school? What role do you think it plays? What role do YOU play in the council?

 As of now it's mainly just been maintaining discipline, and getting across what all the students want to the teachers. As the year goes on though, we'll be organising many events and even this magazine per se was initiated by the council. I think one of the main roles it plays is that it's the intermediary between the school authority and the student body. It also plays a major part in initiating new events and conceiving ideas. I think it really helps that we ourselves are students so we know what students feel is lacking and what can be improved.

Personally, I think since I've been in the school for my entire schooling life and I know how it's grown. I've seen all previous councils and how they've worked so I have a clear perception of what I want our council to do.

What is your role as the ruby house captain?

 I think it plays a major part in inter-house competitions where it's my role to make sure that everyone's talent is put to the forefront and all the students of ruby are given equal opportunities to reach their fullest potential. However, the main objective is always betterment of the school as a whole regardless of which house.


What are the challenges you face in your role?

 I think one of the biggest challenges I've faced personally is balancing responsibility with friendships. Sometimes showing authority to other students may be perceived as acting superior or controlling but you have to keep the bigger picture in my mind. Another issue has been trying to communicate ideas and making sure that everybody has a fair say in decisions. At times people may feel as though they're not being heard out and I'm still working on trying to make sure nobody feels as though they are opinion isn't valued


 How is it flowing for the council right now?

The council is doing great right now, we all get along really well and respect each other a lot which is great. I think what really helps is the trust and relationship we share with one another that makes it easier to make decisions and plan. We have a lot in store for the upcoming months and were honestly really excited and looking forward to everything that's to come. It really helps to know that we have the students trust with us and we hope to live up to their expectations.


Do you think the student council gets enough power in this school? Is it enough to carry out your duties?

I think that's a bit of an issue we're facing now. When it comes to implementing rules and discipline we're definitely given power which is respected for the most part. But in terms of having a say in the administrative process, we get overshadowed at times since our suggestions are still not fully taken into consideration. I feel like that's mainly because we're still new and we haven't been able to show our capability yet. I'm confident that will improve with time though once we're able to prove ourselves.


What about the ex-council? There are big shoes you need to fill. How does it feel to be following their footsteps?

Honestly, the ex-council were like mentors to us. They helped us so much in understanding what it means to be the council and they told us how to overcome so many barriers. It's an honour to take after them and I have so much respect for each one of them. I think it's more about learning from their mistakes, taking their advice and doing what they wanted to but weren't able to make them proud.


Today’s council will take the school another step forward. What about tomorrow’s council? What kind of legacy do you want to leave for your successors?

 I feel like what's most important is having a close relation to the students and the future council as well. So that we can advise them and allow them to learn from our mistakes and take the school forward since that's the main purpose. The legacy I wish to leave behind is that I want everyone to know that our council made the most of our time and we did everything we wished to no matter how impossible it may have seemed. 


RUBY HOUSE VICE CAPTAIN MEGHAN SINGHAL

How does it feel to be in the student council?

Being a part of the student council is honestly great because it's something that I've been looking forward to and working forever since I've joined this school. It not only gives all of us great exposure to leadership but also it's a way to work with the teachers and students of our school and help them in all the ways possible. I've honestly always loved to share my thoughts and ideas with people and this is one of the best ways to do so.

Taking up this position requires immense responsibility and I'm glad that my teachers and friends have found me capable of being able to lead them forward.

I'm honoured to be a part of the house I'm in, which is Ruby and be able to uphold the position of all the past delegated ruby house vice-captains of our school and I can't wait to do the best I can to make not only our house but also our school proud.


 As vice-captains, what is your relationship with the captains?

 Okay, so as a vice-captain, I feel like it's really important to have a good relationship with all the other captains. I've actually known the ruby house captain, Trisha Reddy, for quite a while now and I feel like we work together really well. One thing that I would want to say about her is that she stays extremely focused on what she does and she's hardworking, kind and respects everyone around her.

As for our school captain, Arohi, she's one who you can say, really pushes not only me but all of our students to work hard and never give up. all the other house captains, Sachita (topaz), Gagan (sapphire), Arjun (emerald) as well as our sports captain, Yash, our Cultural Secretary, Sanjana and our Magazine Editor, Edha, have inspired all of us in various ways and I look up to all of them.

One last thing I would want to say about our school's student council is that although at first, it took us a while to get to know each other, we eventually all ended up bonding and laughing at Yash's jokes through the way and I can't wait to work with everyone this year.


What would you like to do for the school and your house?

 This year we would be aiming to win the house cup for Ruby and we'll make sure that the students of our house show a spirit of sportsmanship towards all the other houses as well. We already know how the Greenwood High Model United Nations and school fest, Ignite, turned out to be a huge success and so we hope to come up with more ideas to make these two bigger and better. I would recommend adding more sports or games to our school fest, Ignite, so as to give those who couldn't participate last year, a chance to participate this year.

We would want to focus on the students and find their hidden talents, whether it be in academics, sports, dance or any other form of arts. I would love to encourage everyone to show active participation in school competitions and represent our house to the best of their abilities.

Sports such as football and basketball are highly prominent in our school so I was thinking of hosting inter-school tournaments of these sports, held in our school. The students of Greenwood High could serve as the crowd so as to motivate and support our teams. I hope that maybe this year, we could create school teams in sports as well as activities that don't usually represent themselves in inter-school tournaments.

All I can say is that we stay together and work as one to find ways to help our school, the teachers and our students to prosper.



SAPPHIRE HOUSE

Though we stood fourth in securing the sports cup, we did not give up without a fight. I believe we have paved the path for new leadership, which I hope would lead Sapphire House with determination, tenacity and new vigour to the Hall of fame in the coming year. — Sarthak Kejriwal, Sapphire House Captain 2019-20

SAPPHIRE HOUSE CAPTAIN GAGAN PODAR


How does it feel to be on the student council?

It is very delightful to be a part of the student council.


What does the council do for the school? What role do you think it plays? What role do YOU play in the council?

The student council, I believe, is a body which works for the welfare of the school and brings laurels to the school. Whatever it takes up as its task, it's all done keeping in mind the rules and guidance of the school. When it comes to its role it plays a very important role in both schools part as well as students part.

On the school's part, the council helps the school make decisions which students also accept. And on the student’s part, they look at the council members as their role models. Also, by being a part of it they imbibe certain good qualities within themselves like leadership, responsible. My part being a council member is to fulfil all my duties to the fullest and on time so as to set a good example for the students and the upcoming leaders.

I hope I will do my best for this council and school.


What about as the captain of Sapphire House?

 Sapphire house has always been on top since the beginning, But what I have heard about the past 2 - 3 years is that they were not that good for Sapphire. My main aim is to bring back my house to the same position where it belongs. I will make sure that it gets back its shine.

 What issues would you like to solve? What is your agenda?

 My main agenda will be to bring forward the students of my house who are capable and deserving. And also to bring out the hidden talents within sapphire house students. The only problem now is how to come back to the no.1 position for which I am thinking of solutions.


 What about the ex-council? There are big shoes you need to fill. How does it feel to be following their footsteps?

 As I am a new student to this school and haven't been familiar with their work style, I am sure that I have a lot to do for the house and school.

But yes it's a great pleasure to be a part of such a cycle. Such a legacy where people admire you and look upon you. Following their footsteps indeed is fantastic and I just hope I continue to do my best.


What kind of legacy do you want to leave for your successor?

The legacy that I would want to leave for my successors is to work for what is right no matter what it costs.


SAPPHIRE HOUSE VICE CAPTAIN ANIKA KRISHNA


So how does it feel to be a member of the student council?

This school has basically helped me build my character along the way. It feels great to finally help the school in any way after all that it has done for me. So, to summarise, I'm grateful to be a member of the school council.


What is your relationship with the senior council?

The senior council is extremely organised and supportive. They always have an idea about how to tackle difficult situations and their tips for becoming a better leader have been quite helpful.


What are your plans as the vice-captain of your house?

My aim is to first try to encourage my house to participate and win more competitions and make sure that everyone gets equal opportunities in every field. I also plan to help my house win Sports Day for the coming year.



TOPAZ HOUSE

Have goals so big you get uncomfortable telling people. - Aviral Bhardwaj, Topaz House Captain 2019-20







TOPAZ HOUSE CAPTAIN SACHITA NAYAK


So how does it feel to be on the student council? Is it very different from being a regular student?

No, it's different, I wouldn't say I don't feel like a regular student but there's just more responsibility.


What does the council do for the school? What role do you think it plays? What role do YOU play in the council?

For the school, I'd say the council plays an important role in organising events like ignite and GWHMUN etc. The council members also act as mediators between the teachers and students, for example, the council approached the principal and vice-principal and got permission for Wonderla.

As for me as house captain, I'd want my house to do really well in inter-house competitions and just be a good leader and ultimately win the house cup.

And also overall for the school help in organising the events and just working as a team with the other council members.


What are the challenges you face in your role?

For me personally because of all the things I've taken up along with school it would be managing my time and investing enough time in the events that the council organises, also I'm aware that the other students don't take the council too seriously so I'd say showing that I don't take my position for granted and really do care about this house and want it to do well.

What about the ex-council? There are big shoes you need to fill. How does it feel to be following their footsteps?

I mean they did really well so I know the teachers expect us to do really well too. For us, I feel like we just wanna do whatever we do properly I guess.

Today’s council will take the school another step forward. What about tomorrow’s council? What kind of legacy do you want to leave for your successors?

I mean I can't really answer for everyone and to be honest I don't really know. I guess as house captain I'd like to take my house to the top and with the council as a whole organise these events and competitions really well so it's easier for the next council to do so


TOPAZ HOUSE VICE CAPTAIN ADITI PARTHAN

 

What does it feel like to be a part of the student council?

Well, it’s pretty great, to be honest. I’ve always wanted to be a part of something bigger and be able to help the school and the students grow and prosper. Although it comes with huge responsibilities, it’s good to know that the teachers and children of this school believe that I’m capable of taking care of my house. As someone who had been looking forward to just being a part of the elections for vice-captains, I will try my level best to help topaz house be it’s the best version of itself, especially in regards to winning the next sports day cup because we haven’t won in a while. Overall, it’s an absolute honour to be chosen as the topaz house vice-captain out of so many worthy candidates. I’m truly looking forward to the coming academic year and making the most of the opportunity I’ve gotten.

As a vice-captain, what is your relationship with the captains?

The topaz house captain, Sachita Nayak, is truly the best captain topaz house could ask for. She’s approachable, kind, helpful and not to mention, highly experienced, as she’s had prior exposure to leadership being on the council as a vice-captain when she was my age. I strongly believe she is going to lead our house to success and I can’t wait to stand beside her in our journey to victory. She’s not only a friend but a person I know I can go to for advice if I have any problem.

As for the other captains- Arohi our school captain is someone I look up to and am grateful that she gives us each responsibilities in the council and looks at us equals. Yash the sports vice, our Magazine Editor Edha, Cultural Secretary Sanjana, and the rest of the house captains — Arjun, Gagan and Trisha — are all so inspiring to us vice-captains. They have been able to create a friendship with us and recognize that we are capable of helping our respective houses. They make sure we never have to face a problem alone and are friendly to us.


- By Minal Shaik


196 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page