top of page

What moves Devansh?

It all started with a tough decision back in 8th Grade when we were given forms to choose our Sixth Subject for ICSE board exams. Options given to us were Art, Economic Applications, Commercial Applications, Computer Applications and Physical Education.


At that time, me being good at Art, Drawing Colouring and Comic Sketching was falling for the best option as Art. But then I asked myself if I actually wanted to see a hobby as a career option and after a long time, I decided to take up something else which could open new paths for me and my future. And yes, that something else is the reason I’m here today writing for ‘The Green Pages’ as a Business Column Writer.






So after the long decision, due to my very less but yet existent interest in the business world, I was the last one(and I guess the only one) in my class to submit my form with Commercial Applications as my 6Th subject for the Classes 9 and 10. Not only did I take it up for Grade 9 and 10 but also continued it by taking the Commerce stream for Grade 11 and 12.



Looking at the textbook, I got the feeling that I had made a big mistake as the book was colourless, pictureless and included all those chapters about things which I had never heard about and one thing that made me sad was how it did not contain any real-world case studies or analysis about organisations. But then the year started, slowly after explanations and interactions with teachers I started gaining interest in the subject. Whenever I read a news article related to the failure or success of an organization, I started investigating. I started spending time on looking for reasons for my queries. This also brought a lot of advantages with it, I started gaining knowledge about a world which I thought was small and included players (businessmen) earning profits only. Of course, I was wrong and now started acknowledging and understanding the world better with the help of teachers and mentors I got who have been teaching the subject to me.



Coming to the main point about why I started writing, it’s simply that I wanted to spread knowledge and factual data to those who are interested in the topic but want things to get clearer. And one big fact that before ‘The Green Pages’ I have never done any writing work which is read by such a big number of readers. In fact, I haven’t even participated in any of the competitions held at school and yet when I got the opportunity and was asked if I wanted to write for the ‘The Green Pages’, I said yes without giving it a second thought.

Now coming to the content, I write is a mix of something that I feel is write and a way it should be accepted by others too. Its all researched and analyzed information but if there is anything that my readers disagree, I’m always there (free and excited) to listen to different aspects and thoughts of my fellow readers. I would also be happy to have a bright conversation with people having different views about something I’m confident about.



Writing Procedure?


Every article is not a pre-planned article because there are themes which I have to relate my article to. Looking for a trending topic is easy as there are many but then it all falls back on how I would relate it to the theme. Thorough research is done which might take around 2 hours to 2 days depending upon how much knowledge I had about the topic I have chosen and once the information sits in my mind I’m ready to make it easy for the readers so that every point in the article is understood in layman’s language.



Future plans?


Articles related to current happenings in the country will surely be brought up in the ‘The Green Pages’ and keeping up with the team I will make sure everyone is aware of the business world in my articles. And if my thought doesn’t go wrong future of the business world in India is going to be exciting!

- Devansh Pandey

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page